August 2018

Wed., Aug 15
6:30-8:00 p.m.

Elementary Parent Orientation

Thurs., Aug 16
6:30-8:30 p.m.

Children's House New Parent Orientation

Fri., Aug 17
8:10-12:00 p.m.


By appointment

New Elementary Student Orientation
First Grade, Fourth Grade, and New Elementary Students

Children's House NEW Student Class Visits

Mon., Aug 20
8:10 a.m.-3:00 p.m.

Regular Elementary Schedule Begins

Mon., Tues., Wed., Thurs.
Aug. 20-23
8:45-10:45 a.m.

Children's House New Student Orientation

Fri., Aug 24
8:45-11:45 a.m.

Children's House Returning Students Only

Mon., Aug. 27
7:30-8:40 a.m.


8:40-11:40 a.m.
8:40-2:30 p.m.
8:40-5:30 p.m.

2:30-5:30 p.m.


Before School Care Begins

Regular Children's House Schedule Begins
~Half Day Students
~
Extended Day Students
~Full Day CH Students

Explorer's Club Begins

Wed., Aug. 28
9:00 a.m.

Parent Council" Meet & Greet" @ Hattie's
Corinth Square
4195 Somerset Dr, Prairie Village, KS 66208

September 2018
Mon., Sept. 3 Labor Day
No School
Fri., Sept. 14
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Highlawn Open House
(weather permitting)
Mon., Sept. 24

Class Group Picture Day

Tues., Sept. 25

Individual School Pictures

Wed., Sept. 26

Individual School Pictures

October 2018
Wed., Oct. 3
6:00-8:30 p.m.
All School Parent Education Event
Sat., Oct. 6

Family Campfire and Hayride

Wed., Oct. 10

Optional Speech & Language Screening
4-9 year olds
Must register child in office

Wed., Oct. 31 Halloween Parade/Parties
CH dismissal @ 11:40
Elementary dismissal @ noon
No Explorer's Club
Full Day CH Class-regular schedule

November 2018

Thurs., Nov. 1

Fall Staff Development Day
No School

Thurs., Nov. 8 & Fri., Nov. 9

Children's House & Elementary Fall Conferences
No School for all Students
No Explorer’s Club

Wed. - Fri.
Nov. 21-23

 

Thanksgiving Break
No School
Classes resume Mon., Nov.. 26

December 2018
Wed., Dec. 5
6:30 p.m.-7:30 p.m.
Evening in the Elementary Class
Informative meeting for any preschool or kindergarten parents exploring
continuing the Montessori journey for elementary school.
Tues., Dec. 18

JoHo the Storyteller

CH dismissal @ 11:45
Elementary dismissal @ noon
No Explorer's Club
Full Day CH Class-regular schedule

Dec. 19 - Jan. 1, 2019 Winter Break

January 2019
Wed., Jan. 2

Classes Resume

Mon., Jan. 21 Martin Luther King Jr. Day
No School
Wed., Jan. 23

New Family Enrollment Begins

 

February 2019

Fri, Feb. 2

Children's House Spring Staff Development Day No Children's House Classes
Elementary Regular Schedule

Wed., Feb. 6

Optional Speech & Language Screening
All students eligible
Must register in office

Fri. Feb., 8
5:45-6:30 p.m. or 6:45-7:30 p.m.
Children's House Parent’s Night~ Doolittle & Connell
Parent(s) and currently enrolled students only!
Mon., Feb. 18

President's Day
No School

Fri. Feb., 22
5:45-6:30 p.m. or 6:45-7:30 p.m.
Children's House Parent’s Night~Barackman, McEachen & Smith
Parent(s) and currently enrolled students only!

March 2019

Fri., Mar 1
6:30 p.m.

Highlawn Dinner & Auction
The Kansas City Room at 28 Event Space

1300 W. 28th St. Kansas City, MO 64108

Thurs. Mar. 7 - Fri., Mar. 8 Children's House Spring Conferences
Elementary Spring Conferences
No School
Mar. 11-15 Spring Break
No School
Mon., Mar. 18 Classes resume

April 2019
Fri., Apr. 5

Spring Staff Development Day
No School

May 2019
Thurs., May 2
6:00-7:00 p.m.

Elementary Open House
Event for 2018-2019 Highlawn Elementary families
Thurs., May 16 Last Day of Full Day Care and Explorer's Club

Fri., May 17

Last Day of Before School Care
Kindergarten Graduation Ceremony @ 10:15
Last Day of Children's House Classes
Dismissal for all students-10:15 a.m.

Fri., May 17
11:00 a.m.

All School Picnic ~ Taliaferro Park
11:00 a.m. ~ 1:00 p.m.

Tues., May 21
9:30 a.m.

Elementary Filed Day
(raindate- Wed., May 22)

Fri., May 25 Sixth Grade Graduation & Luncheon
Fri., May 24 Last Day of Elementary Classes
Dismissal at 12:00 p.m.